Phillies Ace Roy Halladay Wins 2010 NL Cy Young Award Unanimously

Halladay in his final start of the year, when he beat the Giants to extend the Phils' season basically on one leg. Not his greatest performance by any stretch, but maybe his most impressive.

Update: Welcome, Farkers!  UFIAs to the left.

The Baseball Writers Association of America today made official what pretty much everyone’s known all year: Phillies ace Roy Halladay was the National League’s best pitcher in 2010. Doc won the Cy Young Award, the second of his career, on the strength of a superb season in which he went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA, leading the NL in wins, complete games (9), shutouts (4), innings pitched (250.2) and strikeout-to-walk ratio (7.30).

In a very slight surprise, the vote was unanimous, with Halladay receiving all 32 first place votes from the Baseball Writers Association of America.  Cardinals starter Adam Wainwright placed second, with the Rockies Ubaldo Jimenez coming in third.

Roy Oswalt placed sixth, while Phillies left-hander Cole Hamels was not named on any of the BBWAA ballots.
In his first season with the Phillies after 11 with the Toronto Blue Jays, Halladay proved fully worth the package of talented prospects the Phils parted with to acquire him. He threw a perfect game against the Marlins in May, and fired a no-hitter in his first career playoff start against the Reds to spark the Phils’ three-game NLDS sweep. Halladay was an astonishing 14-1 in 15 starts against NL East opponents.
Halladay is the first Phillie to win the Cy Young since Steve Bedrosian in 1987. He joins Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, Roger Clemens, and Gaylord Perry as the only pitchers to win the award in both leagues; Halladay was the AL winner in 2003.

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies 32 224
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals 28 3 1 122
Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado Rockies 4 19 8 1 90
Tim Hudson, Atlanta Braves 3 13 4 39
Josh Johnson, Florida Marlins 5 5 9 34
Roy Oswalt, Houston Astros/Philadelphia Phillies 1 3 5 14
Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants 1 5 7
Heath Bell, San Diego Padres 1 1 4
Mat Latos, San Diego Padres 1 2 4
Brett Myers, Houston Astros 1 2
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants 2 2
Bronson Arroyo, Cincinnati Reds 1 1
Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants 1 1
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Good Phight

You must be a member of The Good Phight to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Good Phight. You should read them.

Join The Good Phight

You must be a member of The Good Phight to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Good Phight. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.