clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Congratulations Ryan Howard - 2006 MVP

Ryan Howard wins the 2006 MVP over Albert Pujols, 388 to 347. Howard took 20 of 32 first-place votes, becoming the Phils' first MVP since Mike Schmidt last won the award in 1986.

Howard became only the second player to win an MVP Award the year after being elected Rookie of the Year. The other was the Baltimore Orioles' Cal Ripken, AL Rookie of the Year in 1982 and AL MVP in 1983. Two other AL players won both awards in the same season, Boston Red Sox center fielder Fred Lynn in 1975 and Seattle Mariners right fielder Ichiro Suzuki in 2001. It marked the sixth time a Phillies player won the award and the first in 20 years since third baseman Mike Schmidt won his third MVP in 1986. Other Phillies winners were outfielder Chuck Klein in 1932 and reliever Jim Konstanty in 1950.

Howard is the 19th player overall to win both Rookie of the Year and MVP Awards, joining Pujols, Jackie Robinson, Don Newcombe, Willie Mays, Frank Robinson, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey, Pete Rose, Dick Allen, Johnny Bench, Andre Dawson and Jeff Bagwell in the NL and Ripken, Lynn, Suzuki, Rod Carew, Thurman Munson and Jose Canseco in the AL.

Congratulations Ryan!