clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:'s MLB Hall of Fame Voting Results

The baseball bloggers decided to get their heads together and do a vote for the baseball Hall of Fame based on this year's ballot.  Each team blog got two ballots, the non-team blogs each got one.  I hope you like these spec-fic exercises I much as I do.  Results (and each blog's ballots) after the jump...

Congratulations to Bert Blyleven, the sole inductee under the BBWAA's 75% rule.  Second place candidate Roberto Alomar came up one vote short.

Player % Vote Total Votes
Bert Blyleven 92.3% 48
Roberto Alomar 73.1% 38
Barry Larkin 63.5% 33
Tim Raines 53.8% 28
Mark McGwire 51.9% 27
Edgar Martinez 48.1% 25
Alan Trammell 40.4% 21
Andre Dawson 32.7% 17
Lee Smith 26.9% 14
Fred McGriff 25.0% 13
Dale Murphy 17.3% 9
Jack Morris 13.5% 7
Don Mattingly 11.5% 6
Harold Baines 7.7% 4
Dave Parker 3.8% 2
Kevin Appier 3.8% 2
Ellis Burks 1.9% 1
Ray Lankford 1.9% 1
Shane Reynolds 1.9% 1
Not receiving votes: Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile


And here's a link to all of the ballots, listed by blog.  For the sake of disclosure, my ballot was the one for The Good Phight that named five candidates (Blyleven, Tim Raines, Alan Trammell, Roberto Alomar, and Mark McGwire).  I went back and forth on Barry Larkin and eventually omitted him, although the day after submitting the ballot I changed my mind.  But by then it was too late.  Sorry, Barry.  I will let our other voter out himself if he wishes.

I can see a really good argument for Edgar Martinez, and I think Fred McGriff was kind of screwed by history, entering the league on the cusp of the offensive explosion, which made his quite terrific slugging numbers look sort of ordinary.

Anyway, discuss away, blast me or the other balloters, etc.