clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw Wins 2011 National League Cy Young Award; Roy Halladay Finishes Second

As expected, Dodgers' left-hander and winner of the 2011 National League Pitching Triple Crown Clayton Kershaw was named the 2011 National League Cy Young Award winner.  Kershaw garnered 27 of the 32 first place votes.

The Phillies Trio of Aces made a strong showing, with Roy Halladay finishing second and collecting four of the remaining five first place votes, Cliff Lee placing third, and Cole Hamels finishing fifth.

The last first place vote went to Diamondbacks' starter Ian Kennedy, who finished fourth in total voting.

Kershaw, 23, took the next step in a brilliant young career, leading the National League in victories (21), ERA (2.28) and strikeouts (248).  Halladay had the edge in more advanced metrics, including WAR, FIP/xFIP, and SIERA, but in the end the traditionally brilliant performance of Kershaw was more persuasive to voters.  A worthy winner, and congratulations to Mr. Kershaw.

Complete voting results after the jump....

Pitcher, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers 27 3 2 207
Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies 4 21 7 133
Cliff Lee, Philadelphia Phillies 5 17 9 1 90
Ian Kennedy, Arizona Diamondbacks 1 3 6 18 3 76
Cole Hamels, Philadelphia Phillies 2 13 17
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants 1 5 7
Yovani Gallardo, Milwaukee Brewers 1 3 5
Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants 1 1 3
John Axford, Milwaukee Brewers 2 2
Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves 2 2
Madison Bumgarner, San Francisco Giants 1 1
Ryan Vogelsong, San Francisco Giants 1 1