clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Awards: Rookie of the Year - Harper, Trout Claim Honors

Angels outfielder and South Jersey native Mike Trout claims unanimous honors; Nationals outfielder Bryce Harper gains 26 of 32 first place votes.


The American League Rookie of the Year Award is one of the biggest slam dunks in the history of awards of any kind. Obviously, Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels won, claiming all 26 first place votes for SBN Rookie of the Year. Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish finished second, with Athletics outfielder Yoenis Cespedes coming in third.

The National League vote was not quite as emphatic as the American League, but it was still a runaway -- the Nationals Bryce Harper won claimed the honors, getting 26 of 32 first place votes. Wade Miley of the Diamondbacks and Todd Frazier of the Reds finished second and third, respectively.

The Good Phight (Liz Roscher and I) each submitted one ballot for SBN Rookie of the Year. Our ballots:

Liz Roscher:

1. Bryce Harper; 2. Wade Miley; 3. Norichika Aoki

Peter Lyons:

1. Bryce Harper; 2. Wade Miley; 3. Norichika Aoki

Liz and I disagree about most things, as you can see.

Congratulations to both Trout and Harper, two of the best rookies the league has seen in years, and the cream of an excellent all-around 2012 rookie crop.

SBN Awards voting below:

National League

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Bryce Harper Washington Nationals 26 9 157
Wade Miley Arizona Diamondbacks 8 21 5 108
Todd Frazier Cincinnati Reds 1 4 9 26
Norichika Aoki Milwaukee Brewers 14 14
Zack Cozart Cincinnati Reds 1 2 5
Andrelton Simmons Atlanta Braves 1 1
Anthony Rizzo Chicago Cubs 1 1
Lucas Harrell Houston Astros 1 1
Michael Fiers Milwaukee Brewers 1 1
Yasmani Grandal San Diego Padres 1 1

American League

Player Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels 26 130
Yu Darvish Texas Rangers 16 7 55
Yoenis Cespedes Oakland Athletics 9 10 37
Jarrod Parker Oakland Athletics 1 6 9
Jesus Montero Seattle Mariners 1 1
Matt Moore Tampa Bay Rays 1 1
Wei-Yin Chen Baltimore Orioles 1 1